Media release: New bushfire case managers a win for community

Media release: New bushfire case managers a win for community Main Image

Eight months on from the bushfires, and people on the South Coast are still struggling to navigate the complex bushfire recovery processes. In the immediate aftermath of the bushfires, it was clear to Gilmore MP Fiona Phillips that a case management service was needed and Mrs Phillips was delighted to see that become a reality in the Eurobodalla.

The Eurobodalla Bushfire Recovery Support Service has been jointly funded by the Australian and NSW Governments and will provide one-on-one support to people impacted by the bushfires.

Fiona Phillips said she was delighted to join with the recovery service coordinator Jane Moxon and Eurobodalla Shire Council to officially open the service today.

“Some time may have passed, but the reality is that people impacted by the bushfires are still hurting,” Fiona Phillips said.

“There is help out there but it has often been confusing and difficult for people to find. Not only this, but people continually tell me how distressing it is to tell your story over and over.”

Since the service opened at the end of July, they have received over 400 referrals and taken on nine case managers.

“I have long fought for case managers so people can get the help they need when they need it. I am thrilled to see that come to life in the Eurobodalla today. This is a huge win for our community,” Mrs Phillips said.

“Thank you to Jane and the whole team for their remarkable work supporting our community.”

However, Fiona Phillips did question why it has taken the government so long to provide this dedicated support.

“I will keep fighting to make sure that people impacted by the bushfires in our community are not forgotten,” she said.

The Eurobodalla Bushfire Recovery Service is open Monday to Friday 9am – 4pm at 46 Vulcan Street, Moruya (next to the Moruya Pharmacy) and can be contacted on 4474 7434 or by email at [email protected].

*Photo attached with Fiona Phillips MP, Jane Moxon, Catherine Dale, Kathy Arthur and Cr Rob Pollock.